Monday, January 23, 2012

Bad calls in the Patriots/Ravens game?

There is some discussion about whether Lee Evans actually did score the touchdown.

From freerepublic: As to whether a catch was made, the standard is simple. From Rule 8, Section 1, Article 3, Item 3: “If a player controls the ball while in the end zone, both feet, or any part of his body other than his hands, must be completely on the ground before losing control, or the pass is incomplete.”

The video is here. Right foot down. Left foot is awfully close, but ...

Separately, IPBiz thought the lob pass to Gronkowski was a complete pass. A commenter agreed:

When Gronkowski caught the ball he had one foot already flat on the ground. His other foot came down well inbound the line, which should have completed the play. Instead the decision was based on the second step after the catch — ignoring that that foot was already on the ground when he caught the ball.

And, on about Evans: That actually looked like he had it long enough with control and both feet down...why was that not a touchdown?


Post a Comment

<< Home